Jukeboxparables

Noteble Quotables; Issue #2

Posted in Notable Quotables by jukeboxparables on April 10, 2009

Do you have a hate-love relationship with punk?

Not with the ethics behind it, but with the punk rock idiom that has been cultivated through the years. When I was in high school, I had a mohawk too, and I wore the right clothes. But slowly I discovered the people that were the most punk didn’t look like me at all. That punk attitude was on the inside. They looked normal but went to the same shows I did. They pointed out bands to me that I though were great. Then I realized I didn’t have to dress like that, and how ridiculous it really was. When the Sex Pistols came in 1977 everyone said: Okay, so this is punk, this is how it sounds and looks like. But that look was only created so Malcolm McLaren could sell the clothes in his store. And John Lydon developed in PiL, he didn’t get stuck in that music. Dub, krautrock and Vietnamese folk for my part, are just as punk as the Sex Pistols in 1977.

— Omar Rodriguez Lopez

…”The punk-idea goes beyond any form of image of music. Fela Kuti who announces his house in Nigeria as an independant republic is more punk to me then any band on the Warped tour can ever be. Green Day, The Libertines, The Distillers, that’s not punk to me, that’s outfitmusic. It’s fun if you’re 12 or 13 and you want to develope your own identity, but at a certain moment you’ll have to move on. If you’re thirty and still play the same tunes, use the same eyeliner and still put the same band stickers on your guitar, you’re not punk anymore, you’re one of those old dinosaurs the punks rebelled against in the first place.

— Cedric Bixlar Zavala

Leave a Reply

