Jukeboxparables

The Smiths, Live @ Derby 1983.

Posted in Music by jukeboxparables on April 2, 2009

So this is nothing new in the least. But I’ve heard a few bootlegs in my day (I was swapping/trading them with strangers at the age of 16… mostly Nirvana and the like) But I randomly came across some Smiths live stuff on the youtubes nothing new there. But wow does it sound amazing. So I did some googling. It’s a bootleg released under the name “Sorrow’s Son” CD format, and the recording is from Assembly Rooms, Derby on the 7th of December 1983.

Check out the set on youtube via a playlist I made here It’s worth it for the sheer brilliance of how good it sounds. Especially one of my favourites “Still Ill” Morrissey’s vocals are spot on. It’s a great recording.

Here’s an excerpt; the aforementioned “Still Ill” which is off their 1984 self titled debut.

the_smithsb

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kitty Munroe said, on April 14, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Hey dude, there are a STACK of great + ‘credible’ Smiths bootleg tapes out there, I can point you in the right direction (when I remember) if you’re interested, otherwise I could burn a copy of some good shit?

    (still ill is a greaaaaat song)


Leave a Reply

